Posted in ALL BLOGS, Christmas Blogs

“Trying to stay STABLE, while we celebrate the Stable!” CHRISTMAS REFLECTION and a Life Lesson relevant for every day of the year!

For some, the excitement of the Christmas season mounts as the days get closer, but for others, it’s a real strain knowing they have fewer days than yesterday to complete everything. However it makes you feel, I invite you to join me each of the 12 days till Christmas, as I share daily Christmas Reflections and of course an accompanying Christmas image! (I just love taking photos & sharing pictures so it’s only right each post is inspired by my own photos.)

Today’s chosen image below is of a nativity scene, complete with stable but no star. Today’s life lesson is that of staying stable in yourself while we concentrate on the celebrations of the Nativity stable!

PhotoGrid_1513608544224

Some of you may have noticed, that there isn’t a strict scheduling system of new posts on my blog. That is because I can have Fibromyalgia flares (the chronic health condition I suffer with) and my body just says “NO!” & I can’t face writing a blog post as it can take a lot out of me.

Now I could be hard on myself, make myself feel like a letdown and a failure as I’m not able to stick to the commitment of regular posting like most other bloggers do etc.

Now this is always a battle, as inside I’m still the same girl as before Fibromyalgia restricted me physically and my character is very driven, determined and committed to getting what I want or achieving goals I’ve set myself. However, physically, my body doesn’t always give me the privilege of being that girl anymore, it doesn’t care what I want or what goal I had set myself, if it can’t manage it at that moment then my body isn’t doing it and if I try to do it then the punishment is 1000 times worse.

I’ve struggled with pacing as the girl inside me doesn’t want to listen to my body, pay attention to pain levels or have restrictions. Yet at certain times you have no choice – so on those days you have no choice but to listen & let it be!

So instead of stressing I decided to try to stay stable. No not the stable in the picture, that was just me enjoying doing a play on words for ya’ll 😉

STABLE =

  • (of an object or structure) not likely to give way or overturn; firmly fixed.
  • (of a person) sane and sensible; not easily upset or disturbed

I always think of things both mentally and physically, as I know too well what it’s like to be restricted or affected beyond your control in both aspects of life. So looking at the description above of what stable means, I see the act of ‘staying stable’ as being both in body and mind.

The definition of ‘stable’ for ‘an object or structure’ is relevant for the body – so trying my hardest not to let situations overturn me or cause me to give way, but to stay firmly fixed.

The definition of ‘stable’ for ‘a person’ being relevant for the mind – so not letting things (like not being able to blog the same all the time) upset me or disturb my balance, but instead try to stay sane and also sensible.

This is so poignant for this time of year. It’s so easy to be so stressed, stretched and overloaded that we become unstable when small things can cause us to become disturbed and overturn us. We cause people in our lives to walk on eggshells around us, scared of saying or doing something to tip us over the edge and unhinge us. That’s how much stability affects those around us as well as ourselves internally and physically.

So instead of choosing stress, anger or guilt from not doing a regular post like most bloggers, I accepted the disappointment. I chose to look at it from another perspective. I tried to focus on what I could do the next day instead of what I was unable to do the day before. I read lovely comments people had made about my previously posted blogs and it gives me smiles instead of frowns.

So when the roast potatoes burn, take lots of deep breaths, accept the disappointment & be glad you have mashed potatoes done. When the Mother-In-Law isn’t that impressed with her present, smile through gritted teeth and don’t let it take your stability away.

So today’s reflection is a reminder from this struggle – that in those times we have a choice = stress or stability. I hope this Christmas Season you choose STABILITY too.

Click here for the whole CHRISTMAS REFLECTIONS COLLECTION to have a quick read of them & they are all relevant to make this the BEST CHRISTMAS DAY ever, with perspective, clarity and a joyful heart. Or see below for a list of all my short reflections & click on the title you’d like to read:

Here is my ‘CHRISTMAS and NEW YEAR’ board on Pinterest you are welcome to follow:

ENJOY READING HELEN’S JOURNEY POSTS AND POEMS? Then join the Mailing List, follow on Social Media!

Don’t miss out when new stuff is posted –Please click here to join my Email Mailing List to receive an email notification when a new blog is posted!

Why not come & follow my blogging footsteps on other Social Media Platforms (click on names to take you to the different media profiles):

Facebook Page / Bloglovin / Instagram / Twitter / Pinterest / YouTube / Tumblr

Facebook: Fibromyalgia Awareness & Chronic Illness Support Group

Author:

Blog: www.helensjourney.com Twitter: @helens_journey Instagram: @helens_journey Google+ https://plus.google.com/117284586716186784083 Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/helensjourney Bloglovin: https://www.bloglovin.com/@helensjourney

13 thoughts on ““Trying to stay STABLE, while we celebrate the Stable!” CHRISTMAS REFLECTION and a Life Lesson relevant for every day of the year!

    1. Thank you for the feedback Jaime, so glad you enjoyed it. Lots more posts part of this ‘Christmas reflection’ series also… Find them under the ‘Life’ menu option under ‘Christmas’ x

      Like

Leave a comment